The fifteenth meeting of Group of Twenty (G20) will convene from 21-22 November 2020, in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. This event marks the first time that Saudi Arabia will hold the Presidency of the G20.

The Saudi Arabian Presidency has selected the theme, “Realizing Opportunities of the 21st Century For All”.

The three key agenda items to be addressed under this theme are: “Empowering People, by creating the conditions in which all people – especially women and youth – can live, work and thrive”; “Safeguarding the Planet, by fostering collective efforts to protect our global commons”; and “Shaping New Frontiers, by adopting long-term and bold strategies to share benefits of innovation and technological advancement.”

The G20 is made up of 19 countries and the European Union. The 19 countries are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the UK and the US.

SDG Knowledge Hub coverage of prior Summits can be found here.

dates: 20-21 November 2020
location: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia

Source: IISD’s SDG Knowledge Hub – RSS Feed


Request For My Information


Request For Account Deletion


Request For Information Deletion


General Request / Query To DPO